GoGoDragons 2015: Dragon’s Hoard

In case you’ve been incredibly out of the loop with my general goings on (you’ve been missing out on a hell of a lot of fun), GoGoDragons is a Norwich based event which – in short – involves having uniquely painted, person-sized dragon sculptures scattered in and around the city. Which is as cool as it sounds. 

And this year I just happened to be one of the artists that successfully got a sponsor for my dragon design! Dipples the jewellers (in Norwich & Dereham) sponsored my design called ‘Dragon’s Hoard’ which focuses on the idea of dragons hoarding treasure and gold like the crazy gold diggers they are. Below is my original design I submitted:

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince

So, since around November last year, I’ve been gradually transforming my dragon into something fabulous. It’s been a whole bunch of fun, not only painting the dragon but also hanging out with some other artists and getting to know the Norwich illustration scene that little bit better (it’s a lot bigger than I thought!).

Very recently, I finally managed to finish my big ol’ dragon, and here’s the progress…

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
Naked dragon! I just had to go and bloody make my design mostly black, didn’t I…

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
The first day of painting was just this. Turning my naked dragon into a bit of a Night Fury. Lots of mess, lots of lying on my back, lots of getting paint on my face like an idiot.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
She did look rather cool all dark, though.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
As per my original design, the black sort of fades to a deep grey towards the top of the wings and the head, so lots of sponging and contouring came next.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
The contouring was a whole tonne of fun, though. It felt like I was face painting again, just on a rather… different… shaped face.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
This stage looked very strange. Like a negative dalmatian. But this was the best way to make sure the gems were as bright and vibrant as possible.
GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
With the eyes and spines done, I could add some detail to these gems. This shot shows the finished red gems on her neck. I was so worried they wouldn’t ‘pop’ enough, having them 2D and painted on, but the worries were for nothing since they turned out awesome!
GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
I eventually had some more marvellous artists join our ranks in the GoGoDragons shop in Castle Mall! We formed quite the herd.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
I swear most of my time was spent adding teenie, tiny little highlights to each gem to make sure they really sparkled. This was fine for the first few, even not so bad for the first side, then I remembered there was a whole other side I needed to do…

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
With the gems finished, I could finally start adding some real spangle! Metallic bronze paint looked absolutely lush against the black backdrop.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
She soon started to look as sparkly and glitzy as I had hoped she would! Needless to say, I got a bit excited at this stage.

 

 

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
The finishing touch is always fabulous nails, vital for every self respecting treasure hoarder. So on went the beautiful golden manicures.
GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
This is the end result of many months of painting, dotting, highlighting, and tea drinking! Dragon’s Hoard looking as glittery and shiny as I had hoped. So so excited to see her on the streets of Norwich, proudly representing Dipples, Break, and all the freelance illustrators out there.
GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
Just a cheeky close up of her badass freckly face. Couldn’t be happier with this.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
With Dragon’s Hoard and all her dragon buddies all finished, we wrapped them up in three tonne of bubble wrap, tape and whatever padding crap we found lying around, for them to be shipped off to Break to be varnished! God speed, little buddies.

 

GoGoDragons Dragon's Hoard Charli Vince
With the shop empty of dragons, paint everywhere, and some very tired artists, all we can do now is wait for them to be unveiled in June!

It’s been so much fun working on this project with so many marvellous people. A huge thank you to Break and WildInArt for organising it all, Dipples for sponsoring my design and everybody else who has been awesome and lovely. Can’t wait to see all these badboys released into the general public in the next month or so, it’s going to be so damn good.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

